questionshas anyone bought dvds from dvdsfound?

vote-for10vote-against +10 -0

by dravack
asked a year ago

vote-for13vote-against

I delete them because I believe they are selling counterfeit merchandise.

vote-for6vote-against

Domain Name: DVDSFOUND.COM
Registrar: GODADDY.COM, INC.
Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com
Referral URL: http://registrar.godaddy.com
Name Server: NS67.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
Name Server: NS68.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
Status: clientDeleteProhibited
Status: clientRenewProhibited
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Status: clientUpdateProhibited
Updated Date: 12-feb-2011
Creation Date: 12-feb-2011
Expiration Date: 12-feb-2012

their "About Us" page is riddled with misspellings and grammar errors. the tiny CNZZ link at the very bottom left takes you to their Chinese stat tracker.
looks shady IMO

vote-for0vote-against

made a purchase of star trek series from them a few months ago. The DVDs seems all right not like bootlegs...

vote-for3vote-against

@greenfeetsb: really @greenfeetsb? hmm that is amazing. how long did it take for you to receive the dvds? did you have any playback issues in your region of DVD player?

vote-for10vote-against

@greenfeetsb: Registered an account just for that one comment, huh? Shenanigans.

vote-for4vote-against

wOOtgurl~you and many other people on this site amaze me. I have no idea how to check out domain sites, to me this is all magic. That is one of the reasons I'm here, if a site is bought from by most of you, it seems "safe" to me. Thanks.

vote-for5vote-against

@gigi889: you can bookmark any one of the popular "whois" websites and use it to search, such as http://www.whois.net/
from those results, you can tell it's registered with godaddy and it's a fairly new site. you have to combine that with other facts to come up with your own conclusion. easy peasy

vote-for2vote-against

I don't understand why you guys think this is counterfeit? I mean the prices are low but not insanely so. Also since Bluray has come out, DVD prices have dropped quite a bit. I'm not saying I'm in any big hurry to purchase from them but I don't really see any red flags...

vote-for13vote-against

@autotechinstl: I think this was the icing on the cake for most:

"...their "About Us" page is riddled with misspellings and grammar errors. the tiny CNZZ link at the very bottom left takes you to their Chinese stat tracker.
looks shady IMO."

I'm with @wOOtgurl. If it walks like a duck and quacks like a duck, it most likely will turn out to be an order of Black Market Peking Duck.

vote-for4vote-against

Yeah, the region free DVDs and global shipping services they work with is a dead giveaway. Most likely you'll end up with with some sort of bootleg. It may be a very good bootleg, but I wouldn't risk it.