Why does www.woot.com take me to a "stamped" page from which I cannot escape?
Opera Web Browser, Windows 7 Pro 64bit.
by
michaelmills
asked 6 months ago
check your hosts file and make sure you're not being taken somewhere else. it should be in: %systemroot%\system32\drivers\etc\
@carl669: Thank you for your response, however the site is not listed in my hosts file. The IP address that resolves for www.woot.com is the same that resolves for kids.woot.com, however, kids.woot.com (and deals.woot.com which is where these questions are located) is working fine. www and home are coming up with the "stamped" page which appears to be a part of woot's "stamped" utility offering for iphones.
@michaelmills: ahh. issue with the opera browser then? i've tried on firefox, chrome and ie with no issues.
what is a "stamped" page? never heard of that. screenshot?
Hmmm.. which version of Opera are you using? Type "opera:about" in the address bar.
@jyoz22: Version 11.52, Build 1100
@carl669: Yes, I would agree, it is a conflict with Opera, but I think it may be something in their code that doesn't recognize the browser properly. I tried the link directly in Chrome, and it worked without issue.
EDIT: Sorry just saw the screenshot. Can you do this:
1. Click the OPERA button.
2. Hover to Extensions
3. Click on Manage Extensions
Is anything listed there?
I was able to find this:
http://www.stamped.com/
http://www.stamped.com/faq
http://help.stamped.com/ <-- (people are complaining not being able to remove or delete account!)
http://help.stamped.com/customer/portal/articles/233518-how-do-i-logout-
It seems like some kinda shady thing. I've browsed through the website and got a lot of SSL errors on their site.
Further, a quick look up of the domain WHOIS information reveals the domain is registered privately, something big businesses would not do. Really shady. Check your pc for any malware that may be installed.
@jyoz22: none :(
@jyoz22: Checking now. Thanks.
@michaelmills: I have no extensions listed in Opera. I also ran MalwareBytes against my local machine with a quickscan and found nothing. I am now running superantispyware to see if it finds anything.
Thank you.
@michaelmills: If you were using IE I'd know it would probably be a Browse Helper Object, but since you are running Opera I have no clue. Opera is very safe according to most tests.
Have you tried visiting the site on IE on your computer? Does it also take you to the stamped page or only in Opera?
14 Answers answer
Sort By: