Is this site a scam? Anyone want to play detective?
The site is http://us.luciddeals.com
I know a hundred bucks might seem like a lot for this remote, but I was amazed when I saw it go on sale for only $120 several months ago. That's the lowest I had ever seen it.
From what I can tell looking at the site, you have to "complete an offer" (whatever the hell that means), then refer 5 friends who each have to also "complete an offer" AND refer 5 of their friends. Then and only then are you eligible to get the deal.
Between that and the too-good-to-be-true price, I smell some BS. But I don't have time to investigate right now to be sure.
Come on, sleuths - there's a merit badge in it for you!
by
anotherhiggins
asked 2 years ago
Oh HELL no.
I was on this page:
http://us.luciddeals.com/harmony-one/register.php
(I clicked on "Add to cart" to look for scammyness)
When I went to edit the URL to check out their main site's page (just trimming off the "harmony-one/register.php" at the end of the URL I was presented with
the following nag screens:
then
and finally something that is supposed to look like I'm actually being IM'd by a real person. I'm sure that these were just three automated messaged timed several seconds apart:
http://grab.by/4JJE (I've edited out the coupon code because I'm not throwing any business their way)
@anotherhiggins: When it sounds too good to be true, generally it is, eh?
The site's description of their business model sounds eerily similar to a buying club or pyramid scheme...
"LucidDeals.com is an independent discount program and not associated with any of the merchnages or brands listed within this website. The merchants or brands in no way endorse or sponsor LucidDeals.com's offer(s) and are not liable for any alleged or actual claims related to this offer. In order you receive your product you must: (1) Meet the eligibility requirements (2) complete one offer as stated in the terms and conditions (3) Refer 5 friends to register and complete the one offer (4) Submit final payment and provide shipping information"
Run away, run away!!!!!
@anotherhiggins:
I agree, RUN! This sounds like one of a billion scams that "hold" your personal information until you become "eligible." Please note the heavy usage of air-quotes. I've only heard of maybe two people who have ever gotten their payoff from such sites, and I'd be hesitant to pass along spam to my friends too. A spammer friend is almost as good as no friend at all.
I can't comment on if this specific site is legitimate or not. But, I can be added to the list of people who actually benefited from an internet pyramid scheme. I got a free (really) iPod back in the day - summer of 2004. I forget the details, but it was 15gb. I had to do an "offer" and then get 5 other people to do the same.
It was back when you could actually do offers that didn't cost you any money.
@dcalotta: See, though, that's just the thing. A successful pyramid scheme is profitable long enough to have at least a whiff of legitimacy, making money for some participants. The scheme runner can't be too greedy too quickly or there will be insufficient positive buzz to lure in the masses who eagerly turn over their money or other things of value in expectation of no-effort jaw-dropping rewards.
Hmmmmmm...wonder if I have thought about that a bit too much...
Regardless, I'm glad that you were one of the fortunate ones!
@dcalotta: So you are one of those that fill my inbox with spam!
These schemes are just another form of social engineering.
@rocker1969: Apparently I was at the time :) Well, not so much your inbox but your paintball forums and your AIM chats :-p
Hey, I was barely 18 and free (expensive) stuff was on the line!
7 Answers answer
Sort By: