questionsanyone out there gone gluten free?


silly concept imo, unless suggested by a real doctor.
But to each their own. I love bread and pasta WAY too much to even think about it. good luck!


I'm not really a fan of the "Cut X out of your diet" ideas, unless you're completely allergic to it or it's absolutely terrible for you. But, good luck, and hope you do whatever makes you happiest :-)


I know I couldn't do it. I need the carbs for my workouts and am glad I am not allergic to them. I know some friends who have done it and they said it was very hard to find gluten free "fast food" at times. So, I have attached a free Kindle gluten free lunch cookbook for your noshing pleasure. Enjoy!


@aksman44: I already don't eat meat or dairy so fast food is mostly out of the question anyway I like to cook so it works out for me. I don't know that I'm allergic to them but I can tell I don't feel as good when I do eat them. I'll take a look at the cook book though I'm worried that previous dietary restrictions might hinder it's usefulness.


i only eat 30g of carbs a day, mostly from peanut butter or spinach. the 65% of my diet comes from fats and 35% comes from protein. i dont need carbs for my workout and i am getting even strong then when i did use carbs.


Actual gluten alergies are extremely rare so any perceived benefit from cutting gluten out of your diet will likely be purely a placebo effect.

However, it isn't going to hurt you, so have at it.

BTW- note that barley contains gluten, so you're also talking about cutting beer from your diet.


I feel like there's some confusion here on Carbs vs Gluten.


I have been thinking of doing the same thing. I've got stomach issues and a few of my doctors suggested I try it out and see if it helps. Even if it is a placebo effect, I'd be happy, haha. Anything to make me feel better.


@kllangellier: Have you thought about probiotics as well. I recently started taking them and do feel better on them.


@gideonfrost: YES! Poop-yogurt! Activia works wonders


@baqui63: Gluten Allergies aren't as rare as you think. I am allergic to gluten and have been on a gluten-free diet for about 30 years.

Gluten is a plant protein that is found in wheat, barley, and rye. People allergic to gluten are sometimes also allergic to foods containing a similar protein such as those found in oats.

I have to be very careful what I eat. Simple things like ketchup have vinegar in it which is a fermented grain. What grain did they use? Probably the cheapest -- wheat. So I have to use gluten-free ketchup. I cannot eat french fries at a fast-food restaurant because some of them have wheat in them.

The last statistic I remember is that 1 out of 10 people have some sort of gluten intolerance (don't have a source for this number). Many of those people do not realize they have this issue. They may get sick and not understand the underlying cause of their illness so many of these cases go unreported.


I've been on a gluten elimination diet for 3 weeks. I was previously just vegan, but ate loads of processed foods, mostly wheat products (crackers, cookies, etc.) and since I cut out gluten (not worrying about things like yeast extract, vinegar, etc. though) I've had 0 IBS symptoms. No indigestion (which I have once or twice a week) or major bloating/cramping. I have been eating more fruits and veggies than normal, but no adverse effects I've had in the past with doing that (gas!)

I guess my point is that you have to try it for yourself with the idea in mind that you must eat a balanced diet. Do not rely heavily on processed GF replacement foods like pastas or breads. Really, our ancestors survived mainly on plant materials. Maybe a few servings of meat a week, and some simple grain products (depending on what part of the world and how long ago we're talking here) so eating more like that will be best for our bodies.


My daughter was told she has a gluten problem and has tried to take it out of her diet. She did find a gluten free beer she can drink.


@aksman44: Thanks for the link~sent it to my daughter.


This is all I can think about when I hear glutens mentioned:

Skip to 7:30 to see what is still haunting me.


I'm gluten free because I have celiac disease, so it's not optional for me. Here's the numbers: about 1 in every 10 people in the world has one of the two alleles which can trigger celiac disease, but only 10% of those with the alleles will eventually develop the disease. That means about 1 in every hundred people MUST be on a gluten-free diet.

About 8-9% of people are sensitive to gluten to some degree, and feel better on a gluten-free diet, even though there's no evidence of damage from gluten. Many of those people operate better on a Paleo diet than just a gluten-free one.

A small (less than 1%) of people have an actual allergy to wheat. Those people must avoid wheat and anything cross-contaminated with wheat, or they have an allergic (histamine) reaction.

And for everyone else - I have no earthly idea what they think they will accomplish on a GF diet! It's high calorie and missing many essential nutrients from grains, and costs more. Really, why?


One can have gluten sensitivities and not be allergic, or have celiac disease-like symptoms, but not have celiac disease. (One Gastro's personal experience with this: )
I've eliminated several grains like wheat from my diet, along with sugar & most artificial sweeteners, and a massive amount of processed foods. It has made it SO much easier to control my weight, keep my blood labs smack dab perfect. My lipid panels are stunning & a LDL/HDL ratio of 2.3.
It works for me because I like & eat such a wide variety of proteins, vegetables, dairy, fruits, etc., so I am able to get all my nutritional needs met while eating very well & eating quite a bit.
It is NOT going to hurt you to give up wheat as an experiment, but I think you will be stunned to find wheat (& sugars) are in so many things you currently enjoy. PM me if you need help.


I've recently become a fan of a few websites that have helped me ease into giving up all the processed stuff I crave, adore & really should avoid. Two of them are & Both of them are Paleo Diet oriented which is hard for lots of people to understand, BUT they do provide some excellent links to Gluten-free sites.

I wish I could be like so many of my friends who can wolf down stuff like wheat, corn, sugar and not have it make an impact. They can have a bagel with a smear for breakfast, a sandwich for lunch & pasta for dinner. I guess I'm one of those folks whose genetics dictates avoiding delicious stuff like that and sticking to a more "pure" way of eating. I hate it, but if I want to maintain a healthy weight, it's a must.

If there is a heaven, forget the milk & honey! It'll be a place where there are plates of pasta, bags of Cheese Doodlez & Doritos & Dim Sum and no fat-bottom worries.
Love to hear how the experiment plays out for you!


Someone already mentioned paleo and Mark's Daily Apple - both great.
This forum is mostly for low-carb diets, but the recipes are mostly gluten free. They also have a few good sections on research and gf friendly products. I know there are a few dealing with similar food allergies/vegan, etc. So you may find support there as well.

As for gluten sensitivity, check out the book "Wheat Belly" - it's astounding how many people don't handle modern wheat well, let alone gluten. Me, I found out that gluten triggers debilitating migraines about 3x/week. When I'm on plan, I feel like a million bucks.

Carbs for working out - not really needed. When you keep you natural fat and protein levels up, your body happily uses those. If you're a marathon runner, bananas are just about the perfect amount of carbs for that. Me, when I have an especially hard workout, I eat 1/4 cup of sunflower seeds.


What gluten-free isn't:

GF is not low-carb. At least, not if you use gluten-free versions of pasta, breads, etc., which tend to be higher in carbs/calories and with fewer natural nutrients. Going GF is not a good way to lose weight, though a Paleo diet can be.

GF isn't grain free. Corn, rice, quinoa, teff, millet and amaranth all have a form of gluten, but not the kind in wheat, rye, and barley. The Bad Gluten is in: wheat, rye, barley, spelt, kamut, triticale, durum, einkorn, farina, semolina, couscous, and matzo. All are "forbidden" on a GF diet, along with malt (from barley), licorice, soy sauce, and commercial beers.

GF isn't necessarily wheat-free. A major brand of fiber supplement is prominently labeled GLUTEN FREE and has one ingredient: wheat dextrin. People with wheat allergies should read ingredients and not rely on the GF label.

Something labeled gluten-free isn't really gluten free - it just test to less than 20 parts per million of gluten.


@adadavis: Good message. I'd like to add that you need to be careful when consuming quinoa. Technically, that grain is gluten-free as you mentioned; however, it is my understanding that this crop is usually rotated. This means one year they grow quinoa, the next year the land is used to grow wheat. Then, the following year it's back to quinoa. What usually happens is that some of the wheat still grows into the quinoa like it's a weed and is harvested along with the quinoa. It is now contaminated and some of us are extremely sensitive to gluten so a small amount still causes unwanted reactions.

I've had reactions from simple things like toothpaste. Looking at the ingredients, there's no mention of gluten or any other items that contain gluten. When I contacted the company, they confirm that there are trace amounts of gluten in it. That makes me angry that they do not include it in the ingredients because it's less than a certain percentage where they must include it.


@cengland0: Quinoa, like oats, has to be grown in a protected space rather than in rotation with wheat or barley. I won't touch either unless they are certified as gluten-free. I've had problems with toothpaste before, and generic drugs. About 6 months after going gluten-free, I pulled a muscle and took a couple of generic ibuprofen. The generics, I found out later, use a base of "inert ingredients" that often includes gluten. I now stick to brand names that say they use a GF base. Prescription drugs can still be a problem, too, since they are not required to list inert ingredients and usually won't answer the question even if you call them.


@adadavis: I stay away from oats even though they are gluten-free because the protein strain in oats is too close to gluten and I get a reaction from it anyway.

Regarding drugs, that's been a problem for me too. I'm also a vegetarian so I have issues with using gel caps. They are usually made with gelatin which is created from animal bones.

Being certified as gluten-free doesn't convince me to use quinoa. I'm concerned that the companies that certified it doesn't understand the intricate details of this issue.

I have to be careful when consuming anything with vanilla in it. If it's naturally flavored like Bryer's vanilla ice cream, I'm okay with it. If it's generic and they use vanilla extract to flavor it, I cannot have it. The vanilla extract is usually stored in an alcohol base and that alcohol could be made from almost anything.